Learning Centered Technology

Technology for the Educator

FutureMe

with one comment

FutureMe.org

FutureMe.org

Last January I came across a website that seemed interesting, but I saw no real potential for classroom use. I decided to play around with the site. The site is called FutureMe.org. It allows you to write emails to your future self.

At that time I was in the mist of completing a degree so there were a lot of ups and downs. Some days I felt like I would never complete the process and wondered why I was putting myself through the trauma. As an experiment I decided to write my self of the future with a word of encouragement.

Fast forward one year. The website is forgotten. The degree is completed.  I wake up to find an email from the past in my inbox. Upon opening it I found that I was congratulating myself on the completion of my degree and the fact that the world had not end on December 21. It was in that moment that I realized the true power of the site, it showed me the faith I had in myself.

Today a student stopped by my office to talk about what a difficult semester he expected. He told me it was his last and if things work out he would walk for graduation in May. He was concerned that he may not complete. I encouraged him and reminded him how far he has already come. I also told him of my experience with the website and encouraged him to write his own note to self.

Sometimes classroom technology is not about technology to assist in the studies, but about technology that encourages one to continue the journey.  Teaching is about inspiration. FutureMe.org, if used properly, can be that inspiration to students. Instructors can encourage students to set goals and celebrate victories. FutureMe.org can help people remember why they started the journey. Check it out at http://www.futureme.org/.

Written by Dr. Sherri E. Ritter

January 23, 2013 at 4:40 pm

Posted in Cool Finds, Fun

Tagged with

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. A nice tool and a great reminder. Thanks, Sherri!

    Kim

    January 24, 2013 at 9:10 am


Leave a Reply

